UFC 244: Results and highlights

Mixed martial arts fans in Australia were treated to a spectacular show in Melbourne last month and the drama continued at UFC 244 in New York which featured one of the best cards in UFC history.

Jorge Masvidal staked his claim as the baddest man in the UFC with a third-round doctor's stoppage against Nate Diaz bringing an explosive night of action to a close.

In attendance, US President Donald Trump received a rowdy reception from the 20,143 sell-out MSG crowd.

However, the loudest jeers on the night were reserved for the cageside doctor who surprisingly decided to halt the BMF title fight due to a nasty cut above Diaz's right eye – much to the dismay of both fighters.

Masvidal had dominated the first two rounds but Diaz was responding towards the end of the third with the crowd clearly sensing a comeback.

Speaking after receiving the BMF belt, a frustrated Masvidal said they would “run the fight back.”

A rematch early in 2020 will once again draw huge martial arts news attention, with both fighters expressing an interest in a second bout.

Meanwhile, Englishman Darren Till produced a remarkable performance, landing a tactical decision victory over Kelvin Gastelum. The 26-year-old was under pressure after suffering back-to-back defeats but dominated the fight with controlled bursts and excellent takedown defence.

Seventh-ranked light heavyweight Corey Anderson stopped in-form Johnny Walker with a vicious first-round TKO before the performance of the night came from American Kevin Lee. The former 155-pound interim title challenger knocked out previously unbeaten lightweight Gregor Gillespie inside three minutes with a devastating left high kick.

Stephen “Wonderboy” Thompson got back in the win column with a trademark performance against rising contender Vicente Luque. Both men were given a $50,000 Fight of the Night award for their three-round battle.


Jorge Masvidal def. Nate Diaz via third-round TKO
Darren Till def. Kelvin Gastelum via split decision
Stephen Thompson def. Vicente Luque via unanimous decision – FOTN
Derrick Lewis def. Blagoy Ivanov via split decision
Kevin Lee def. Gregor Gillespie via first-round KO (2:47) – POTN
Corey Anderson def. Johnny Walker via first-round TKO (2:07)
Shane Burgos def. Makwan Amirkhani via third-round TKO (4:32)
Edmen Shahbazyan def. Brad Tavares via first-round KO (2:27) – POTN
Jairzinho Rozenstruik def. Andrei Arlovski via first-round TKO (0:29)
Katlyn Chookagian def. Jennifer Maia via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Lyman Good def. Chance Rencountre via third-round TKO (2:03)
Hakeem Dawodu def. Julio Arce via split decision (29-28 x2, 28-29)

Author: admin_hey

Table of Contents